FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

March 11, 2020



311 E Main Street | Fort Wayne, IN 46802 www.fwmoa.org | 260.422.6467

CONTACT:

Amy Schreiber, Executive Assistant for Advancement and Administration Fort Wayne Museum of Art / amy.schreiber@fwmoa.org / 260-422-6467

Fort Wayne Museum of Art Honors Ben and Sharon Eisbart at the 2020 ArtRageous Gala and Auction Fundraiser

Fort Wayne, Ind., March 11, 2020 – At its annual fundraiser March 6, the ArtRageous Gala and Auction, the Fort Wayne Museum of Art honored longtime community leaders Ben and Sharon Eisbart with the inaugural President's Award, presented by FWMoA President and CEO Charles Shepard III.

Sharon and Ben Eisbart have both worked tirelessly in the Fort Wayne community since they moved here in August of 1972. They chose to remain in Fort Wayne because of the people they met and the opportunities to get involved and make a difference. Sharon taught preschool at 1st Presbyterian Church until starting her own art consulting practice, "Sharon Eisbart Corporate Art", which recently celebrated its 25th Anniversary. Ben left his position as the executive director of the Fort Wayne Jewish Federation and eventually joined OmniSource, where he was Executive Vice President of Administration until it was acquired by Steel Dynamics, from which he recently retired as Vice President of Human Resources and Corporate Compliance Officer.

For these reasons, the Fort Wayne Museum of Art has chosen to recognize these community greats for their near half century of dedication in Fort Wayne's evolution as a city. Sharon has served on several boards and commissions, as president of the Fort Wayne Museum of Art, is a founding member of Francine's Friends, and is currently involved with Women United of United Way, Early Childhood Alliance and Arts United. Her civic involvement also includes board service on the Fort Wayne Civic Theatre and WBOI public radio. She is a recipient of the Fort Wayne Museum of Art Theodore H. Thieme Award. Ben has been involved in numerous elected and appointed civic and not-for-profit organizations, serving on the Fort Wayne City Council, the Fort Wayne Board of School Trustees, the Allen County Public Library, and the Allen County-Fort Wayne Capital Improvement Board. He has chaired The Fort Wayne Philharmonic, the Civic Theatre and the Fort Wayne Museum of Art, where he also chaired the Search Committee which selected Charles Shepard as its president. He is the current President of the Fort Wayne Jewish Federation. Ben is a Paul Harris Fellow and a Sagamore of the Wabash.

"The greatest honor anyone can receive is to be recognized by the people you respect and care about in the organization that means so much to you that it is where you choose to spend your time. And for the past 40 years, it has been with this Museum and all of you that we have chosen to do just that. So being recognized is another amazing gift beyond all that you have already given us," Sharon said.

About the Fort Wayne Museum of Art

Beginning with art classes in 1888, the Fort Wayne Museum of Art has evolved into the leading visual arts institution in Northeast Indiana. Regularly exhibiting nationally acclaimed artists, the FWMoA also boasts a permanent collection including works by Mark di Suvero, Andy Warhol, and Kara Walker. The

FWMoA is committed to the collection, preservation, and presentation of American and related art to engage and educate broad and diverse audiences throughout the community and region, and add value to their lives. The Fort Wayne Museum of Art is funded in part by Arts United of Greater Fort Wayne.

www.fwmoa.org

END ###