2015 Scholastic Art and Writing Awards

February 08, 2015 - April 12, 2015

Sponsored in part by the Suedhoff Family Memorial Trust

The Fort Wayne Museum of Art Scholastic Program, which features the Art & Writing Awards competition, continues to gain momentum.  The FWMoA Program is one of only 26 Scholastic Programs in the country to offer the full Art and Writing Program and our region has grown to include 52 counties in Indiana and Ohio.  Year after year, the winning students in our program go on to win numerous national awards.  In the process of receiving national recognition, our young artists join the ranks of many celebrated American artists and writers which includes luminaries such as Richard Avedon, Andy Warhol, Bernard Malamud, Robert Redford, Sylvia Plath , Joyce Carol Oates, Luis Jiminez, and Truman Capote, among others.

In 2013, the Fort Wayne Museum of Art was awarded the Gold Key for Excellence in the Field by the Alliance for Young Artists and Writers. This annual award is given to only one organization that demonstrates extraordinary dedication to providing opportunities to creative young people; perseveres through challenges over time; and expands the Scholastic Art & Writing Awards program to reach more participants, among other program attributes.

The Alliance selected the Fort Wayne Museum of Art because of its dedication to expanding access to the Awards throughout Northeast Indiana and Northwest Ohio, implementing innovative solutions to reach students in rural areas, and initiating program enhancements to further strengthen the abilities of participating students and teachers. Executive Director of the Alliance for Young Artists and Writers Virginia McEnerney said, “It is clear that the Fort Wayne Museum of Art values deeply the students and teachers it serves and consistently strives to offer more opportunities and enhance their experience of the awards.”