2017 Scholastic Art and Writing Awards

February 12, 2017 - April 09, 2017

The Scholastic Art and Writing Awards features the Gold and Silver Key winning students in grades 7-12 from Northern Indiana and Northwest Ohio. It has grown into what is now a model program for the rest of the country, exhibiting the best student artwork and writing of the region.

The FWMoA Program is one of only 26 Scholastic Programs in the country to offer the full Art and Writing Program and our region has grown to include 52 counties in Indiana and Ohio.  Year after year, the winning students in our program go on to win numerous national awards.  In the process of receiving national recognition, our young artists join the ranks of many celebrated American artists and writers which includes luminaries such as Richard Avedon, Andy Warhol, Bernard Malamud, Robert Redford, Sylvia Plath , Joyce Carol Oates, Luis Jiminez, and Truman Capote, among others.

In 2013, the Fort Wayne Museum of Art was awarded the Gold Key for Excellence in the Field by the Alliance for Young Artists and Writers. This annual award is given to only one organization that demonstrates extraordinary dedication to providing opportunities to creative young people; perseveres through challenges over time; and expands the Scholastic Art & Writing Awards program to reach more participants, among other program attributes.

This is the ninth consecutive year FWMoA has been ranked in the top-10 for national awards given to its regional Scholastic participants, and the fourth consecutive year for top-5 ranking in the same category. This success comes from dedicated staff and administration, a supportive Board, financial support from the Fort Wayne Art League, the Suedhoff Family Memorial Trust, and other sponsors, and a region of committed teachers and talented students.  Since 2003, The Fort Wayne Museum of Art has been focused on providing opportunities for our area students by providing outreach services and enrichment opportunities through an after school Art Club, and Award Ceremony with over 2100 in attendance annually.

To learn more about your students participating in the program, visit this page.

Thank you to our 2017 sponsors!
PNC Bank
Boyden & Youngblutt
Lawrence Building Corp